As Indiana’s new poet laureate, I plan to write a regular blog about the poets from my state, both living and not. I’ve named my blog “No More Corn,” despite my love of the golden ears dipped in margarine at the State Fair and my gratitude to the farmers who grow it. What I object to is not the thing itself but to an idea of Hoosier poets as corny provincials, trapped in the nineteenth century and banished from a wider literary world. I welcome into my pavilion of poets those born in the state who migrated elsewhere, those born someplace else who came to live here, and even sojourners of a handful of years who felt the imprint of Hoosier life.

Dear reader, in these electronic leaves you will find factories as well as farm implements, cello suites and jazz trios, current events and archetypal rhythms, sass and brass and the occasional small-mouthed bass. Welcome…

